Diabetes and The Unexpected

Welcome to the 8th annual Diabetes Blog Week! I am super, duper, uber excited to participate this year. I am among many friends that share the disease, or they have a loved one who has it. Several are participating in DBlog week this year, and you can find a full list here.

Today’s topic is about diabetes and the unexpected. Karen wanted us to share what are our best tips for being prepared when the unexpected happens?  Or, take this topic another way and share some good things diabetes has brought into our, or our loved one’s, life that we never could have expected?

I seem to never be prepared for the unexpected with diabetes, and I have had it for over 20 years. So, I’ll share something good that has come out of me being diagnosed with such a needy disease. I initially misdiagnosed with bulimia, and was on my way out the door when I student doctor walked in the room. He asked about my family history, and I ran down the list. Diabetes was at the top, so he had my blood glucose checked. It was through the roof, which told them exactly why I was thirsty, tired, and rapidly losing weight.

The misdiagnosis upset me, because I could have went into a diabetic coma. I became very familiar with the signs and symptoms of diabetes. Later, I saw the symptoms in my brother and my husband. I believe it saved their lives. I wont bore you with statistics, but I know there are way too many people that aren’t diagnosed before something life threatening happens. Much of it is due to the fact that people are not familiar with the symptoms of diabetes.

I have listed the symptoms from the American Diabetes Association website below.

Common symptoms of diabetes:

  • Urinating often
  • Feeling very thirsty
  • Feeling very hungry – even though you are eating
  • Extreme fatigue
  • Blurry vision
  • Cuts/bruises that are slow to heal
  • Weight loss – even though you are eating more (type 1)
  • Tingling, pain, or numbness in the hands/feet (type 2)

Early detection and treatment of diabetes can decrease the risk of developing the complications of diabetes.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want anyone to have diabetes BUT I would rather know early then later. Find a good doctor, explore many of the online communities (Diabetes social media, TuDiabetes, Diabetes Daily, are a few), volunteer to stay connected, and be kind to yourself.

Sending positive vibes, love, and light!

4 thoughts on “Diabetes and The Unexpected

Leave a Reply

