How we accidentally cut the cable cord

It seems like only yesterday that I was mindlessly listening to one of the many ratchet TV shows play in the background, while I was really watching one of my favorite You Tuber’s setup their planners. Now all of that is a thing of the past.

I knew before we created the budget that it wouldn’t be smart to spend $114 on cable considering our current situation. So, I called the cable company and told them that I wanted to cancel our service. The customer service representative was extremely helpful, and worked a deal where we would receive a discount of $50 for the next three months. I ecstatically accepted the offer. The next day rolled around, which was the day that we created the budget, and let me just say that it wasn’t pretty (see yesterday’s post here). 

It made more sense just to cut the freaking cable cord. That money can be better utilized in a different category. For now and well into the foreseen future we will be without cable. What will we do? My plan is to stay occupied with other things. We can go to the library, take a walk to the park or around the neighborhood, play a board game or card game, read, color, draw, journal, go to the pool or the lake, and the list goes on and on. Not having cable is such a first world “problem”, so I’m not upset that we no longer have it. My husband and kids on the other hand are a different story, but they too will be fine.

If you don’t have cable t.v., what do you do to occupy your time?

4 thoughts on “How we accidentally cut the cable cord

  1. Not sure if you still have wifi, but streaming services are amazing. My husband and I don’t have cable at all and just have Netflix and Hulu and spend about $20 a month for both. It’s still an expense, but if you ever want to go back to tv, streaming is the way to go!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I don’t have wifi, but internet (and streaming) is definitely cheaper than cable. I’ve heard some really good things about streaming services. I will look into in a couple of months, once we get out finances under control. Thanks for the suggestion, and for reading!

      Like

  2. We’ve been considering this for a long time. I know, KNOW, we could go without it, but it seems so final to do so. Plus, there’s Netflix. I think it was a smart decision for you, maybe it’ll help me decide to finally do it too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We had been considering it for a while too. Honestly if it wasn’t for the recent wake up call we would still be connected to cable. It’s a hard decision to make but well worth it in the end. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

