4 month diabetes check up and a diabetes meetup

I went to my diabetes doctor on Tuesday for my four month follow up. I went in last week to have my labs drawn so I knew I was going to have to make some changes. My A1c was way too high (8.0), and my  cholesterol was out of range (especially the ldl). My doctor and I worked together and came up with a plan. He changed my carb ratio from five to six and he added a medicine to help lower my cholesterol. Ugh! I hate taking anything extra, so I’m looking into ways to naturally lower my ldl. Overall my visit was fine, because my doctor is cool like that.

Once I left the doctor’s office I had about an hour and a half to kill before my next meeting. Usually I would browse around a store until I convinced myself to make a purchase, but not this time. I had packed a salad to eat because I knew I wouldn’t be home until late, but that didn’t quite cut it. So I headed to Panera, started this blog post, and ate a cup of soup (which was a perfect end to my meal and nice on my pockets). Small wins, right?

Next on my schedule was a meeting at the JDRF’s Kansas City office, for a Type 1 meeting. The speaker was a diabetes educator who specializes in sports medicine, and has been kicking diabetes butt for 52 years. She was amazing! The meeting was an open forum Q&A on anything diabetes related. I learned a lot in that hour and a half. Although I’ve been a diabetic for over 20 years, there is always something new to learn or something that I once knew but I had forgotten.

I had a couple of moments yesterday where I almost lost sight of my goals. My inner introvert almost won, but I decided to step out of my comfort zone to meet new people. Because it’s important to me to learn from others, and to use my gifts. My inner bougie chick almost won (because I had just got paid and what’s $10), but I decided to sit down and be humble (in my Kendrick Lamar voice), because I’m committed to my goals. Delayed gratification will give me the ability to do so much more in the future, and I am so excited for that moment.

Sending positive vibes, love, and light!

 

Leave a Reply

