School Supplies from the Dollar Tree

This year I shopped at the Dollar Tree for our back to school supplies. Because I haven’t kept good financial records I can’t tell you if we saved money this year vs last year. What I can tell you is that I purchased everything that was on the list of supplies. A couple of weeks ago I grabbed one of those generic lists from the stands that they put up when they start putting out school supplies. A lot of what is listed is considered community supplies, but for the first time I was okay with that. Mostly because I actually felt like I could afford it.

After work one day hubby and I stopped into Dollar Tree to purchase a couple of household items. To my shock and surprise there was an entire wall, and a couple of isles dedicated to school supplies. They had the usual loose leaf paper, pens, pencils, crayons, and markers, but they also had 3 ring binders, pocket folders, sticky notes, scientific calculators, sandwich containers, thermos, and lunch bags. There was so much variety. We walked out with a little over $50 in supplies, which included all of our 5th graders supplies (plus a few extra to use throughout the year) and a couple of items for our senior in high school. It felt good to be able to make this purchase.

Honestly when I look back at my previous spending habits, I know that I was just being my normal diva self when purchasing school supplies for my kids. This year I told my inner bougie chic to have several seats, because my kids don’t care if their school supplies are name brand or not. It’s amazing how different I operate now that I have changed my mindset. As my mama use to say, I had champagne taste on a beer budget. Think Cristal ($300 or more a bottle) vs Milwaukee’s Best ($6 for a case of 12).

If you have a Dollar Tree in your area, I highly suggest that you check them out. Check in tomorrow when I’ll be talking about the awesome deal that I got on our son’s favorite character, Sonic the Hedgehog book bag.

This is not a sponsored post. I purchased everything with my own money, and did not receive any compensation for my review.
One thought on “School Supplies from the Dollar Tree

Leave a Reply

